Everyday Heroes for 2017 announced

For Immediate Release
May 12, 2017

GUELPH, Ontario – The Upper Grand District School Board is pleased to honour our 2017 Everyday Heroes.

The Everyday Hero Awards Selection Committee chose 11 finalists from a total of 38 exceptional and deserving nominees. This year’s Everyday Hero Awards recipients include dedicated volunteers, teachers, board staff, and others.

The winners are (in alphabetical order):

  • Tara Armstrong, Volunteer, Victoria Terrace Public School
  • Ron Berti, Audio Visual Support, Guelph Board Office / UGDSB
  • Della Broderick, Office Coordinator, Kortright Hills Public School
  • Lynn Clack, Volunteer, Rockwood Centennial Public School
  • Jonathan Fischer, Michael Fischer, Dave Forestell, and Mike Martin, Staff and community members, John Galt Public School / UGDSB
  • Dorothy Fleming and Barb McNaughton, Volunteers, Parkinson Centennial Public School
  • Darryl Kirkland, Former Principal, Orangeville District Secondary School
  • Julie McNevin, Education Programmer, Dufferin County Museum & Archives
  • Melissa Norrish, Leslie Newman and the staff of John McCrae PS, Staff, John McCrae Public School
  • Kim Sonnet, Child and Youth Counsellor, Centre Wellington District High School
  • Steven Wing, Provincial Constable (OPP), Norwell District Secondary School

The criteria for the annual awards are: performance at a high level at all times, a significant school or system-related achievement, a specific innovation or achievement of significant value or importance to the system, or a unique circumstance worthy of recognition by the board.

The winners will be honoured by the trustees of the board at a reception at the E. L. Fox Auditorium at John F. Ross CVI, 21 Meyer Drive, Guelph at 7:00 p.m. on Tues. May 30, 2017. Refreshments and a social hour will follow the awards in the cafeteria.

This year’s entertainment is the John F. Ross Intermediate Band, led by Dorothy Vreeswyk-Kidd, who will perform O’ Canada and other selections for the audience.

Congratulations to all of the winners, nominees and those who nominated them.


For more information:
Heather Loney, Communications and Community Engagement Officer
Upper Grand District School Board
519-822-4420 ext.725

Megan Sicoli, Administrative Officer, Communications
Upper Grand District School Board
519-822-4420 ext.764