For Immediate Release
June 11, 2012

Exceptional teachers recognized by OSSTF District 18

GUELPH, Ontario -- Twenty-eight exceptional high school teachers were honoured for their contributions to students and school community at the Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Association (OSSTF) District 18 Annual General Meeting on May 28, 2012. The teachers winning the two awards – The Excellence in Teaching and the Award of Distinction - were chosen by their peers in their schools.

The winners in the Excellence in Teaching Award category demonstrate exceptional commitment to student success. These are teachers who go well beyond their professional duties to support students both in and outside of the classroom.

The Award of Distinction recipients promote and model the highest professional standards and union and social values in their schools.

Both awards also recognize the significant contributions by individual teachers towards enhancing school climate.


Excellence in Education Award

Click to enlarge 
  • Tim Card and Chantal Vulker, John F. Ross CVI
  • Melissa McDowall and Gerard Bouthro, GCVI
  • Brent Bloch and Marla Spencer, Norwell DSS
  • Alan Van Rees and Stuart Dennie, ODSS
  • Stephen Sherry and Marc Filion, Erin DHS
  • Beth Parks and Kathy Johnston, College Heights SS
  • Evelyn Brown, Centennial CVI
  • Dave Griffiths and Jessica Rowden, Wellington Heights SS
  • Glen McGinnis from Center Wellington DHS
  • Neil Orford and Jeff Wellman, Center Dufferin DHS

Award of Distinction

Click to enlarge 
  • Oliver Hyde, John F. Ross CVI
  • Dave Fast, GCVI
  • John Herbst, Norwell DSS
  • Sarah Guldner Le, ODSS
  • Teresa Katerberg, Erin DHS
  • Kevin Taylor, College Heights SS
  • Evelyn Brown, Centennial CVI
  • Bob Hosken, Wellington Heights SS
  • Bill Zinck, Center Wellington DHS
  • Rob Marchildon, Westside SS
  • Steven Stewart, CDDHS